The Pierre De Celles CAPPA-IPAC Teaching Award

About the Award

Do you want to recognize an outstanding colleague, who excels at teaching? Or, that colleague adds to the richness of the learning experience for students in your School, unit or university?

Then, we encourage you to consider nominating that colleague for the CAPPA/IPAC Pierre De Celles Award.  This prestigious award recognizes the outstanding skill, accomplishment and commitment of an exceptionally dedicated, creative, versatile and effective university teacher.

This annual award was created to honour the memory of Professor Pierre De Celles. He taught for many years at the École nationale d'administration publique and was its Director General. Prof. De Celles was also a member of the Board of Directors of IPAC, and acted as Treasurer and President-Elect.

Key Dates

Nomination Deadline June 30, 2019
 Winners Announced  August 18-21, 2019 at IPAC's 71st Annual Conference in Winnipeg

Criteria for Assessment

IPAC is calling for nominations of excellent post-secondary teachers in the field of public administration who have demonstrated their:

  1. Demonstration of positive innovation in teaching (i.e., course or program design and delivery).
  2. Contribution to the improved quality of the education experience for students and/or faculty in his/her unit or faculty.
  3. Contribution to the richness of the education experience for students and/or faculty in his/her unit or faculty (service above and beyond one’s responsibilities).
  4. Demonstration of recognized breadth in teaching expertise (e.g., various types of students such as mature or practitioners, various types of programs such as professional practice or short programs, expertise in international training).

In sum, we are looking for excellent teachers who bring a wide variety of experience and knowledge as well as passion to educating and inspiring current and future public sector professionals and academics.


Your nomination submission must include:

  • A nomination form duly completed and signed;
  • Maximum of three letters of support outlining the key educational achievements and demonstration of proof of the award criteria.
  • Student evaluations, letters and testimonies of others are appreciated, but not required.

Please submit your nomination package online by June 1st, 2019

Submit a Nomination


2016: Professor Carolyn Tuohy, University of Toronto