About the Award

Every year, the Institute of Public Administration of Canada (IPAC) recognizes world-class innovators who are changing the face of public service in Canada. The IPAC Award for Innovative Management (sponsored by IBM), launched in 1990, distinguishes government organizations that have shown exceptional innovations that address the wide variety of issues facing society today. 

Governments are facing challenges that are increasingly complex and often spread across ministerial mandates and jurisdictions. These issues affect citizens and stakeholders in both predictable and unintended ways. Although resources are increasingly limited, citizens still have expectations and assume that governments will work together to address them through new and creative approaches.

“It is vitally important to encourage and embrace bold innovations and collaboration in the public sector,” said Andrew Treusch, Commissioner and CEO of Canada Revenue Agency and IPAC President. “Having a showcase of the best of the public sector is something that Canadians should be proud of.”

The IPAC Award for Innovative Management Award aims to recognize and encourage innovation in all public organizations and across all orders of governments. Our program also provides an opportunity to share these good ideas with others. Past award recipients have developed new approaches to combat homelessness, tax fraud, climate change, declining manufacturing base, and improve opportunities for Aboriginal communities. This year we continue to encourage submissions that: 

  • Transform public administration 
  • Advance knowledge management systems and structures
  • Enhance the use and management of public funds
  • Improve transparency, accountability and responsiveness
  • Increase public participation 

In an era of economic restraint, the timing, leveraging, and funding of these programs are more crucial than ever. We collectively demand new approaches to public services that are relevant, cost effective, efficient, transparent and are especially...… Innovative. 

IPAC’s awards model has been replicated by public administration organizations around the world. Nominations are evaluated by a jury of eminent public servants, academics and business people.

Key Dates

Nomination Deadline  June 15, 2019
 Winners Announced

IPAC’s 71st Annual Conference, August 18-21st, 2019,Winnipeg

Conditions and Nomination Procedure of the Award

  • Entries can be made by an organization or a section/division/branch within that organization, depending upon the choice of the entrant.
  • Awards will be made to organizations, not to individuals; all public sector organizations in Canada are eligible.
  • Submissions must be made online.
  • The selection jury will draw up a shortlist of up to 9 finalists who will be invited to appear before the jury to present their project
  • The decisions of the jury are final; the jury may decide not to award prizes in a particular year if the submissions are deemed not to be adequate.
  • All entries become the property of the Institute of Public Administration of Canada.
  • Entries can be made in either English or French. Bilingual submissions are encouraged but not compulsory.


Criteria for Assessment

In judging the competition, the jury pays particular heed to the following criteria:

  • INNOVATION - The submission must clearly demonstrate innovation within the public sector. Innovation might take the form of a successful experiment with clearly measurable results; the implementation of effective organizational change; the translation of new ideas into practice; or harnessing new technology. Where innovation involves technological change, the emphasis should be on harnessing the managerial process to such change.
  • RELEVANCE  - The submission must address issues facing the public sector to maintain Canada's standard of living and global standing in the world and respond to the needs and expectations of citizens.
  • SIGNIFICANCE - That the benefits of the innovation, either actual or potential, are significant; but significance can be local as well as national and should not be valued simply on the ground of size and scale of benefits.
  • EFFECTIVENESS - The innovation in question must have been sufficiently implemented to enable the jury to ascertain the effectiveness of the initiative. The submission should also include a cost-benefit analysis as well as details on other related benefits derived from the innovation in question.


Click here  to complete our online nomination form.

Past Award Recipients

Gold - Condominium Authority of Ontario – Condominium Authority Tribunal
Silver – Alberta Climate Change Office – Carbon Competitiveness Incentive Regulation
Bronze – City of Markham - Markham’s Textile Recycling Program

For a full list of 2018 finalists, please click here.

Gold - Ville de Laval - Orchestrating Change
Silver - Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat - GCTools
Bronze - Nova Scotia Department Internal Services - The Delivery of Effective and Sustainable Shared Services in Nova Scotia

For a full list of 2017 finalists please click here.