Background Image



IPAC Committees

The Institute of Public Administration of Canada (IPAC) is governed by a National Board of Directors as provided for in a comprehensive set of By-laws that are established by its membership (reviewed and approved through an Annual General Meeting). Section 19c of our By-laws provides that the Board may “appoint such standing or special committees as it may deem advisable from time to time, either from its own members or from the general membership of the Institute or from an open call for expressions of interest, and prescribe the duties and powers of such committee.”


There are currently nine standing committees of the National Board including:

  • Finance & Risk Assessment
  • Audit 
  • Governance
  • Nomination
  • New Professionals
  • Research & Professional Practices
  • Domestic & International
  • Vanier Medal Selection


While there is no formalized process in the By-laws for the selection of committee members, protocols are in place to establish these committees. For example, the President, Past-President, President-Elect and Chair of the Regional Group Council sit on the Finance and Governance Committees. The Past-President chairs the Governance Committee and the Nomination Committee. Further, the National Secretary Treasurer chairs the Finance and Risk Assessment and Audit Committees. Of note, the Board of Directors establishes the Chairs of most of these committees. 
By-law 20 deals with the Executive Committee of the Board.  

For detailed description of IPAC Committees, click here .