The Vanier Medal
IPAC AwardsFrançais

Awards nominations are now open and due June 7th, 2024. IPAC will confer awards at the 2024 Annual Conference in Winnipeg from October 2-4, 2024.

An Award in Public Service Excellence

First presented in 1962, The Institute of Public Administration awards the Vanier Medal as a mark of distinction and exceptional achievement to a person who has shown distinctive leadership in public administration and public service in Canada, or who has made a significant contribution in the field of public administration or public service in Canada.

Georges Vanier, then Governor General of Canada, consented to have the medal known as "The Vanier Medal of the Institute of Public Administration of Canada."

Awards given by IPAC recognize excellence in public service and public administration across Canada. The Administration Excellence awards are given to leaders across the Public Administration field.

Key Dates
Winner Announcement
Nomination Deadline
IPAC 2024 Annual Conference
JUNE 7th, 2024 AT 11:59 p.m. EDT
About the Award

This award is given annually to an individual with long-term, dedicated service in the field of public administration. Nominees will have an exceptional record of remarkable achievements in a variety of different positions, having navigated and managed complex problems over a number of years. They will have made a highly significant and valuable impact on the public interest and contributed to increased confidence and trust in public administration. Nominated individuals must be able and willing to provide an insightful lecture at a future IPAC event.

Previous Years Recipients
Yaprak Baltacioglu awarded the 2021 IPAC Vanier Medal

Toronto, July 5, 2021 - Today, Kelly Gillis, president of the Institute of Public Administration of Canada (IPAC), announced that the 2021 IPAC Vanier Medal will be awarded to Yaprak Baltacioğlu for her invaluable contributions to public service.

"I am honoured and very grateful to receive the 2021 IPAC Vanier Medal," said Baltacioğlu, who was born in Turkey and came to Canada at the age of 21 after earning a law degree at Istanbul University. "Serving my adopted country of Canada was the greatest honour of my life and it brings me great pleasure to be recognized for this service."

Next event banner

The 2022 Vanier Award will be presented at the upcoming IPAC 75th Annual Conference.

Submission Process

All submissions for IPAC awards will use the same nomination form. Nominations must include a concise description of the nominee and/or the nominee’s initiative that commenced and was implemented in the previous year. Descriptions should be no longer than 1000 words. Nominators should not be directly involved with the work of the nominee. Reference letters are critical; each nomination must be accompanied by a maximum of three references with a minimum of 2 external. Letters should be 750 words or less and written by individuals who were not directly involved with the nominee’s work. 

Click here to access the nomination form Cliquez ici pour la version française

Juries & Commitees

Adjudication of IPAC Awards has a two-tier process. The nominations are screened by an awards committee that will develop a shortlist of the nominations. The jury will then determine the winner for each category.

Nomination banner
To submit a nomination, fill in this nomination form and submit it before the closing date.

Winners will be contacted before the Annual Conference in October.

If you need to confirm receipt, please do not hesitate to contact us at [email protected]