Promising New Public Servant Award

About the Award

The Institute of Public Administration of Canada will presents this award each year to a promising new public service professional. The individual should be an emerging leader within the public sector and represent the ideals, values and abilities of sound public administration. The recipient of the national award will be made by selection committee based on the quality of the submission and information provided.

Key Dates

Nomination Deadline 2022
 Winners Announced  IPAC 2022 Annual Conference 


  1. A New Professional is defined as anyone who has been employed for less than five years (cumulative) in any of the following organizations:
    • Federal /provincial /territorial governments and their agencies, boards and crown corporations
    • Municipal governments or group of municipal corporations, regional government and their agencies, boards and commissions
    • Broad Public Sector
  2. Executive members of IPAC, whether national or regional, are not eligible for nomination while holding office in the Institute
  3. To preserve the independence and impartiality of the Institute, elected members of municipal, provincial or federal governments (or those who have ever been so elected) are not eligible for nomination


  1. The award will be presented to a new public servant who demonstrates:
  • Leadership potential within the public service
  • Positive attitude towards their work and learning
  • Ideals and values of public administration
  • Ability, initiative and potential to continue and constantly improve upon the sound work of public administration and public servants in their region and/or across Canada

Other Guidelines

  1. The award is made for individual achievement in the public sector, leadership and potential to make a significant contribution to public service
  2. Service in any field of public administration is relevant. Professional contributions should relate to administrative activity rather than a scientific or technical perspective
  3. The award is made solely on the basis of information provided with the nomination form
  4. The Nominee is eligible for consideration for only the year in which they are nominated. The Nominee may be re-nominated in subsequent years if they continue to meet the nomination requirements
  5. The names of nominees and the ranking of nominees by the National selection committee shall be treated confidentially
  6. The award will not be presented in a year in which, in the opinion of the selection committee, a worthy nomination has not been received


As IPAC celebrates its 75th Anniversary in 2022, we will be conducting an end-to-end review of IPAC’s Awards and Recognition Program. The review is part of IPAC’s commitment to growth and change. A review of our Awards and Recognition Program is a step towards ensuring we are aligned with the current practices, knowledge and ideas in public policy and administration that our members shape. Stay tuned for more!

Past Award Recipients

Iryna Soloduk - Director, Program and Customer Service Provincial Disaster Assistance Program (PDAP), Government of Saskatchewan

Jeanne Brassard Léveillé
- Analyst, Innovation Science and Economic Development Canada
Gloria Leung - Digital Experience Architect, Service Alberta
Jenny Flagler George - Waterloo-Wellington Local Health Integration Network

Evan Mills, Acting Manager of Strategy and Innovation in the Branch, Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care.